Chapter 13 Bankruptcy: Listing Creditors in the Schedules

Debtors filing Chapter 13 bankruptcy are required to list all of their creditors in their schedules. There are three schedules in which the creditors are listed. These include Schedule D for secured creditors, Schedule E for priority creditors and Schedule F for unsecured creditors.

Schedule D is where secured creditors are listed. Secured creditors include mortgage lenders, automobile loan creditors, and creditors holding security interests in personal property. However, there are a couple of secured creditors that are sometimes overlooked when the petition is prepared. A creditor owed property taxes usually has a security interest in the house for which the property taxes are owed. These types of creditors must be listed on Schedule D. Similarly, homeowner’s associations usually have claims secured by the home which must be listed on Schedule D as well.

Schedule E is where priority creditors are listed. Priority creditors generally are one of three types of claims. The attorney’s fees owed to the bankruptcy attorney are priority claims listed on Schedule E. Child support arrears and income taxes are also priority claims.

Schedule F is where unsecured creditors are listed. Unsecured creditors are a broad category of creditors that don’t receive payments from the debtor in Chapter 7 bankruptcy and may or may not receive payments in Chapter 13 cases, depending on the debtor’s disposable income. Unsecured creditors include credit cards, medical bills, student loans, payday loans, lines of credit and other types of debts not attached to collateral.